Three major regions of nigeria

Provinces and regions of nigeria provinces northern - southern - regions eastern - midwest - northern - western - territory lagos federal territory note : regions since 1914 are given with lagos federal district formed in 1954. 1946 saw the adoption of the arthur richard constitution which defined nigeria, for the first time, in terms of regions - thus dividing the still colonised country into three main regions: the northern, western and eastern regions. Constitutions however, the key feature of nigeria’s first republic was the perpetuation of of nigeria was a turbulent one the major factors responsible according to sam iroanusi were “the shaky tripartite federal structure with strong regionalism, disparity in the sizes and populations of the three regions three regionally based and. The most populated country in africa, nigeria has become an untapped tourist paradise with long stretches of exotic beaches, lush mountains, well preserved tradition and culture and enchanting tourist attractions. The five regions are presented in descending order of christian population, with the region with the highest number of christians (the americas) appearing first and the region with the lowest number of christians (the middle east-north africa) appearing last.

Nigeria's geography nigeria is considered to have a tropical climate overall, but within that are many diverse physical regions of the country. These three major ethnic groups are differentiated not only by region, but also by religion and life-style nigeria and south africa are both stratified societies however, only in south africa was the white race dominant over the african majority. Nigeria is a patchwork of distinctive regions, including deserts, plains, swamps, mountains, and steamy jungles it has one of the largest river systems in the world, including the niger delta, the third largest delta on earth. The agricultural products of nigeria can be divided into two main groups: food crops, produced for home consumption, and export products prior to the civil war, the country was self-sufficient in food, but imports of food increased substantially after 1973.

When nigeria achieved full independence in 1960, they had already established a federal political structure consisting of three regions based on the three major population clusters that were in its borders. Main cocoa growing countries drawing of cocoa pods there are three broad types of cocoa forastero and crillo plus trinitario a method used in nigeria cocoa and chocolate harvesting ripe pods and curing the cocoa beans splitting open a cocoa pod a pile of cocoa pods. In the south-east of nigeria, the cross river national park is a hilly area, wet and covered with forests when to go the best time to visit nigeria is winter, from november to february , and in particular the months of january and february, which are the driest and sunniest. On 1st october 1960, nigeria became self-governing from british colonial rule and was administered at the center by the federal government and three regions governments in the east, west and north of the country.

Africa has eight major physical regions: the sahara, the sahel, the ethiopian highlands, the savanna, the swahili coast, the rain forest, the african great lakes, and southern africa some of these regions cover large bands of the continent, such as the sahara and sahel, while others are isolated areas, such as the ethiopian highlands and the. Geography of nigeria: nigeria is a country in west africa it shares borders the republic of benin in the west and with the republic of chad and cameroon in the east. On this website, you will learn all about the three regions of nigeria this includes their physical environments, ethnic groups, culture, and economy much of nigeria used to be a rainforest, but they were chopped down to sell and live. Located in the middle belt region of nigeria, benue state shares boundaries with taraba state on the east plateau state on the north and edo state on the west and anambra, enugu, cross river states on the south the entire landmass presents hills of various shades and touristic appeals.

Three major regions of nigeria

Nigeria, located in west africa, is very humid and is filled with forests, valleys and plains nigeria is home to the niger and benue rivers nigeria has an area encompassing over 573,000 miles. Get textbooks on google play rent and save from the world's largest ebookstore read, highlight, and take notes, across web, tablet, and phone. The niger delta region of nigeria accounts for more than 90 percent of earnings from oil and gas, 80 percent of gross domestic product (gdp) and 95 percent of the national budget of nigeria the region also accounts for oil. The natural vegetation is divisible into two main sections directly related to the chief climatic regions of the country: (1) high forest, including both swamp and rain forests, and (2) savannaalong the coastal area, the mangrove tree predominates, while immediately inland is freshwater swamp forest, which is somewhat more diversified and includes varieties of palms, the abura, and mahogany.

  • Despite the subsequent creation of states beginning in 1967 (nigeria now has thirty-six states and a federal capital territory), 18 constitution of nigeria (1999), §§ 2(1)–3(1) this regionalism holds the key to understanding the current legal arrangements in the country until the regions were broken into states, uniform laws applied in.
  • Trafficking nigeria is a major center of human trafficking the us state department's 2010 human trafficking report identified nigeria as a source, transit, and destination country for women and children trafficked for the purposes of forced labor and commercial sexual exploitation.

Hausa is the biggest tribe in nigeria they are the major inhabitants of about 10 state in nigeria which includes bauchi, borno, niger,taraba, jigawa, kaduna, kano, kastina, kebbi, sokoto with traces in several other parts of the country. The three major ethnic groups in nigeria include the hausa-fulani, who predominantly occupy the northern region of the country, the igbos, who occupy the south-east and the yorubas, who occupy the south-western region. Nigeria has three main environmental regions: savanna, tropical forests, and coastal wetlands these environmental regions greatly affect the cultures of the people who live there the dry, open grasslands of the savanna make cereal farming and herding a way of life for the hausa and the fulani.

three major regions of nigeria Religion in nigeria plays a major role in the life of the people, to some it is their candle light, it gives them insight, wisdom, knowledge and faith is increased through the study of scripture, books and prayers in nigeria, religions helps us remain in line and stay focused.
Three major regions of nigeria
Rated 5/5 based on 36 review